Spring Scholar/Athletes Recognized


The high school recognized a total of eight Scholar/Athlete teams at the school’s spring athletic awards ceremony, held during the June 23 Board of Education meeting at the high school auditorium. Athletic Director Dominick Fontana and Superintendent Eva J. Demyen presented members of these teams and other spring student-athletes with certificates.

The varsity baseball, varsity softball, varsity girls lacrosse, varsity boys golf, varsity girls golf, varsity boys tennis, varsity boys track and varsity girls track teams were honored as Scholar/Athlete teams for their strong and successful commitment to both athletics and academics. Teams given this award by the New York State Public High School Athletic Association are required to have five players or more and earn a cumulative team GPA of 90 percent or higher.

The varsity baseball team included three All-Leaguers – Carlos Miranda, Daniel Sciabarassi and Oliver Tavares – as well as Academic All-League honoree Connor Hewlette.

The varsity softball featured All-League players Nancy Burns, Jacqueline Collard and Antonia Santora as well as All-Conference athlete Victoria Fox, while coach John McCaffrey was named League III Coach of the Year.

Peter Tortorici of the varsity boys lacrosse squad was given the Unsung Hero Award, while teammate Jarret Bonser was named All-League.

For the varsity girls lacrosse team, Kasey Dorney earned the Unsung Hero Award and Hailey Leitch was named All‐League.

The varsity boys golf team boasted three All-League athletes: Nicholas Crocco, Jonathan Hovanec and Eric LaMotte.

Faran Nazir of the varsity boys tennis team earned All-County status and Brandon Doogan won the Section XI Sportsmanship Award, while their teammates Sean Sanchez, Cagri Senlik and Nicholas Shanahan were all named All-League.

The varsity boys track team featured four All-Leaguers – Joseph Curry, Nicholas Fenton, Joseph Ranni and Alvin Sime – while the girls varsity track team included All-Leaguer Victoria Major.

Additionally, the girls lacrosse team from Deer Park’s Robert Frost Middle School were honored, having completed an undefeated season with a final record of 8‐0‐2.