AP Achievers


The College Board has recognized 85 Deer Park High School students as AP Scholars for 2015, an increase of eight since last year. AP courses are graded on a scale of 1 to 5, with a score of 3 or above qualifying high school students for college course credit.

Through its Advanced Placement Program, the College Board presents several levels of AP Scholar Awards to recognize top high school students who demonstrate outstanding college-level achievement via AP courses and exams. 

Three graduates from Deer Park’s Class of 2015 – Kyle Dillon, Jonathan Wagner and Aaron Zhang – received the highest designation of National AP Scholar, a category reserved for students who received an average score of at least 4 on all AP exams taken and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

A total of 19 students received the designation of AP Scholar with Distinction, including current seniors Kathryn Block, Kevin Chang, Joseph Curry, Theresa Grimaldi, Alexandra Jacullo, Lauren Lazarte, Mollie Rooney, John Santare and Kyle Sogluizzo, as well as 10 graduates (Dillon, John Dimodica, Emily Fowler, Sabrina Grunseich, Katherine Keller, William Keller, Jessica Orelus, Jeremy Rodriguez, Wagner and Zhang). AP Scholar with Distinction is a title awarded to students who received an average score of at least 3.5 on their AP exams and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.

Current seniors Peter Demopoulos, Tajriana Haque, Shihab Howlader, Shania Mahmud, Joseph Sanchez and Alec Winters were among 13 from Deer Park named AP Scholars with Honor, having received an average score of at least 3.25 on all of their AP exams and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of those exams.

The school can also take pride in its 53 AP Scholars, who received scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams.

Each honored Deer Park student received an award certificate, and their achievement will be listed in AP score reports sent to prospective colleges and universities.