Honoring Student Talent at Fine and Performing Arts Awards

IMG_9481.jpg thumbnail61480

Deer Park honored outstanding student talent at the district’s annual fine and performing arts awards ceremony, held at the high school auditorium during the Board of Education meeting on April 19.

As their proud families watched, Bradley Murphy, the district’s curriculum associate for fine and performing arts, and Superintendent Eva J. Demyen presented the attending artists and performers with certificates and congratulations.

The musicians recognized included Joseph DeNoyior (NYSCAME All-County, All-State Mixed Chorus), Rebecca Fox (LISFA, SCMEA All-County Ensemble), Gianna Giffone (LISFA), Kalvin Guyer (NYSCAME All-County, All-State Orchestra, LISFA), Alaina Lin (LISFA, SCMEA Recorder Day), Jacie Matera (NYSCAME All-County), Ryder Min (LISFA, SCMEA Recorder Day), Michael Strenta (NYSCAME All-County, SCMEA All-County Jazz Ensemble), Catherine Wilkonski (LISFA) and Alec Winters (NYSCAME All-County, All-State Mixed Chorus).

Other SCMEA All-County Ensemble members honored were Valerie Alfaro, Megan Bush, Makenzie Caldone-Koury, Katherine Cho, Isabella Coon, Alexandria Costanza, Carolyn Do, Sara Felipe, Isabella Giglio, Kylie Kuhn, Josephine LoGrande, Nolan Maggio, Alia Naqvi, Christina Russell, Emanuel Saladino, Kailey Tenn and Michelle Xuan.

Other students recognized for participating in SCMEA Recorder Day were Giana Giffone, Erica Hughes, Paulina LoGrande, Sarah Naqvi, Dimitra Pavlatos, Damian Saladino, Gianna Sanchez, Theresa Tiernan, Angelina Winters and Megan Zhang.

Students who attended the New York State Theatre Education Association Conference were honored, including DeNoyior and Winters as well as Alleigha Brady, Samantha Colon, Tori DiTomasso, Anthony Henkel, Averi Lacoff, Alexandra Lane, Nolan Maggio, Jasmine Martin, Destiny Parsons, Danny Saturne, Bianca Taipe and Alejandro Villa-Vasquez.

Visual artists who were honored for their achievements included Regina Ambrosio (Babylon Hispanic Heritage Festival, LIU-Post Advanced Visions, Long Island’s Best at Heckscher Museum), Peighton Steiger (Colors of Long Island), Sean Thiesen (Colors of Long Island), Alex Troisi (LIU-Post Advanced Visions) and Jaelyn Voigt (Long Island’s Best at Heckscher Museum).

Also honored were participants in the SCALA art show, including Ambrosio and Graceann Almonte, Milton Ayala, Santos Barahona, Kristina Console, Gianna DelVecchio, Brianna Edouard, Oswald Greene, Maria Mitac, Kristina Kerr, Grace Oliveri, Adithan Omprakash, Alejandro Pino, Anthony Schiaffo, Taylor Sinclair, Emily Smith and Victoria Wheby.

Lastly, the district recognized student helpers from the high school’s Art and Literary Club, including Regina Ambrosio, Renee Ambrosio, Victoria Clark, Andres Colon, Megan Hammond, Karsten Scoggin and Troisi.