Spring Sports Celebration Honors Athletes


Deer Park’s spring athletic awards honored nine high school teams and one middle school team in a celebration of the final sports achievements of the school year. During the ceremony, held at the high school’s auditorium during the June 21 Board of Education meeting, each student-athlete was given a certificate by Athletic Director Dominick Fontana and Superintendent Eva J. Demyen.

Seven of the varsity teams – softball, girls lacrosse, boys golf, girls golf, boys tennis, boys track and girls track – earned Scholar/Athlete team recognition for their successful commitment to both athletics and academics. Teams awarded this honor by the New York State Public High School Athletic Association are required to have five players or more and earn a cumulative team GPA of 90 percent or higher.

The boys varsity tennis team were League IV champions, with coach Anthony Tannacore named League IV Coach of the Year. The team featured All-Division athletes Kenneth Del Cid and David Mattessich; All-League players Kevin Chang, Salvatore Mule, Timothy Mulholland and Cagri Senlik; and League IV Sportsmanship Award winner Brandon Doogan.

The varsity boys baseball team, led by All-Leaguers Connor Hewletter and Oliver Tavares; the varsity softball team, led by All-Leaguers Genevieve Ferguson and Antonia Santora and All-Division winner Victoria Fox; and the varsity boys lacrosse team, led by All-Division player Jarret Bonser; all received their leagues’ Sportsmanship Awards, as did the junior varsity softball squad and the boys and girls JV lacrosse teams.

The varsity girls lacrosse team featured All-League athlete Kasey Dorney as well as Samantha Giroux, who was named to the All-Rookie team, and Kellee Washington, who won the Unsung Hero Award.

Golfers earning All-League status were Nicholas Crocco of the boys varsity team and Julia Jablonski of the girls varsity.

In track, individual honors for the boys went to Ryan Brooks (All-Division), Christopher Cox (All-Division, All-League), Nicholas Fenton  (All-Division, All-League) and Michael Theiling (All-Division), while for the girls, high achievers included Lynne Gbadamosi (All-League), Jennifer Huynh (All-League), Alexandria Maniscalco (All-League) and Victoria Major (All-League, All-County)

The Robert Frost Middle School softball team finished the season undefeated with a record of 9-0-1.