17 Special Students Honored at Spring Breakfast for Champions


Honored for their outstanding conduct, character and compassion, in the classroom and in the community, 17 special students from the high school were recognized by teachers and administrators at the spring Breakfast for Champions ceremony, held April 20 in the school library.

Student champions are selected in fall and spring by each of the school’s departments, along with additional champions chosen by the principal and a teacher. Joined by their families, they received plaques after being lauded by their sponsors. Music for the event was provided by the school’s string ensemble.

Breakfast for Champions honorees for spring 2017 were Lydia Chang (guidance), Andres Colon (Principal’s Award), Adrianna Donnelly (Teacher’s Award), Jenna Fisk (art), Vincenza Grippe (health), Cody Guiteau (science), Anthony Henkel (English language arts), Shane Hewlette (social studies), Zeynep Hulagu (English as a new language), Darien Jenkins (athletics), James LeFevre (math), Gabriel Ortega Amaya (world languages), Jessica Phillips-Harris (technology), Michaela Rapisarda (physical education), Alyssa Shindel (business), Ginele Tanis (performing arts) and Trinity Wade (family and consumer science).