Post-Season Honors for Winter Athletics

Following a successful season on the field and in the classroom, six Deer Park varsity winter teams have earned New York State Scholar-Athlete status. In order to receive this designation, the teams achieved and maintained a cumulative grade point average of 90 or better throughout the entire season. In addition, the Varsity Bowling and Varsity Boys Swimming/Diving teams received the Sportsmanship Award for their respective leagues. These teams were selected for this award based on the recommendations of officials and opposing teams for their fair play and good sportsmanship on the field of competition. Individual student-athletes were also named State Qualifiers, Academic All-County, All-League, All-Conference, All-County, Class AA All-Tournament Team and All-Rookie Team.

Winter teams also advanced in playoff tournaments, where the Varsity Boys Basketball team became League IV Co-Champions and competed in the Class AA Semifinals. The team was led by Head Coach John McCaffrey and supported by Junior Varsity Coach Ron Langella, who were named Co-Varsity and Co-JV Coaches of the Year, respectively. Female athletes also had exceptional performances, with the Varsity Girls Basketball team advancing to the quarterfinals of the Class AA playoffs, while Varsity Kickline finished first in pom and kick and third in lyrical at the LIKA Championships.


Varsity Boys Basketball
Head Coach: John McCaffrey
Assistant Coach: Justin Gutman

This team was Co-Champions of League IV and advanced to the “Class AA” Semi-Finals.  Coach McCaffrey and Coach Langella were named Co-Varsity and Co-JV Coaches of the Year respectively.  

Lenny Bates - Academic All-County
Aaren Edmead  - 1st Team All-League
Keith Williams - 1st Team All-League, Class AA All Tournament Team
Rome Jenkins - 1st Team All-League, All-Conference
Kyle Bradford - 1st Team All-League, All-Conference, All-County
Sean Scott - 1st Team All-League, All-Conference, All-County

Varsity Girls Basketball
Head Coach: Mike Gennaro
Assistant Coach: Holly O’Donnell

This team advanced to the Quarter-Finals of the Class “AA” playoffs and was recognized by New York State as a Scholar Athlete Team.

Gianna Locker - All-Rookie Team, Scholar Athlete
Kelsey Dillon - All-League, Academic All-County, Scholar Athlete
Nicole Gomez - All-League, Scholar Athlete
Andrea Desvignes - All-League, All-County, Scholar Athlete

Additional Scholar Athlete Members
Kristina Anantua-Brown       
Kristen Fischer       
Jordan Lazarich

Varsity Wrestling
Head Coach: Mike McLaughlin
Assistant Coach: Rich Englehardt

David Hamil - All-League
Robert Madgum - All-League
Frank Matos - All-League
Cory Muroff - All-League
Valter Piccini -  All-League
Kenny Sciabarassi - All-League
Mike Schutt -  All-League
Zach Lugo -  All-League, All-County

Boys Winter Track
Head Coach: Chris Kauter
Assistant Coach: Tom Brouillard

This team was recognized by New York State as a Scholar Athlete Team.

Scholar Athlete Members
Henry Aguinada
Adam Ahmed       
Jerome Berdecia-Alvarado
Anthony Bolson       
Vincent Cotrone   
Joshua DeLeon
Sean Dudley           
Rick Guerra       
Jihad Hameed
Wai-Ga Ho           
Abul Karimi       
Daniel Keller
Brandon Lynch       
Kiani Marcellus   
Ismaldo Matias
Shahan Mian           
Tam Nguyen       
John Pfundstein
Thomas Sandoval       
Andrew Schaefer   
Manan Singh
Tyler Teng

Girls Winter Track
Head Coach: Jim Petti
Assistant Coach: Mario Fiore

This team was recognized by New York State as a Scholar Athlete Team.

Scholar Athlete Members
Ashley Brennan       
Gina DePietto           
Caitlin Drake
Jessica Gormandy       
Isis Hodge           
Amanda Khare
Sandra Popa           
Britney Ramnauth       
Nora Seem
Melissa Spindler       
Nicole Spoelstra       
Victoria Trovato
Ginger Valle           
Tyrane Williamson       
Daniela Zabbatino

Varsity Bowling
Head Coach: Anthony Tannacore

This team received the Sportsmanship Award for their league.

Adam Zimmerman - All-League, Sportsmanship

Additional Sportsmanship Members
James Brennan       
Jennifer Depre           
Steven Dorney
Brianna Fatone      
Timothy Getchius       
Krystle Kozakevitch
Matthew Montanez       
Zeth Rand           
William Rathje

Varsity Boys Swimming/Diving
Head Coach: Craig Mangio
Assistant Coach: Gwen Bonn

This team was recognized by New York State as a Scholar Athlete Team and received the Sportsmanship Award for their league.

Brandon Peskett - All-League, Scholar Athlete, Sportsmanship
Bryan Rennhack - All-League, Sportsmanship
John Pawelko  - All-League, All-County, State Qualifier, Scholar Athlete, Sportsmanship, School Record in the 500 Freestyle  

Additional Scholar Athlete and Sportsmanship Members
Samir Bacchus           
Trevor Bernard       
Matthew Caldwell
Max Christianson       
Kyle Doogan           
Justin Gallo
Robert Hunt           
David Izsak           
Matthew Leichert
Matteo Mule           
Ian Murray           
Anthony Porras
Andreas stamatakis       
Kevin Tresselt           
Sergio Valoy
Eric Wolff           
Kendrick Wong       
Kevin Xie

Additional Sportsmanship Members
Cristian Aguilar-Recinos   
K.C. Carter           
Marcus Diaz           
Daniel Gerardi           
Joshua Larcom           
Emmanuel Leger          
Kenneth Leger           
Scott Lovinger           
Sebastian Martinez            
Sergio Martinez       
James Murtha           
Reise Rand

Varsity Cheerleading
Head Coach: Lia Demyen

This team was recognized by New York State as a Scholar Athlete Team.

Scholar Athlete Members
Chinella Charlton       
Karissa Fitzpatrick       
Concetta Gioeli
Danielle Guida           
Victoria Herbst       
Jessica Lugo
Julia Matera           
Micaela Morella       
Megan Murgittroyd
Nicole-Ann Pagan       
Marissa Ramage       
Kedeisha Rose
Keri Sickenberger       
Nia Thomas

Varsity Kickline
Head Coach: Kristen Smith
Assistant Coach: Samantha McIllwaine

This team finished in 1st place in pom, 1st place in kick and 3rd place in lyrical at the LIKA Championships.  They were also recognized by New York State as a Scholar Athlete Team.

Scholar Athlete Members
Danielle Calcagno       
Nicole Cito           
Toni Ann Cox
Amy Dinoff           
Kelsey Heyne           
Arianna Leo
Gabrielle Miceli       
Emily Panzenbeck       
Nicole Pirro
Taylor Thomas           
Sophie Watkins       
Kimberly Zelaya