The district is proud to announce that seven high school winter athletic teams achieved New York State Scholar-Athlete status. In order to receive this designation a team must achieve and maintain a cumulative grade point average of 90 or better throughout the entire season.

In addition, the Varsity Bowling team was selected as a Section XI Outstanding Sportsmanship Team for their fair play and good sportsmanship during the heat of competition. What makes this award so genuine is that it is determined by officials and opposing teams.

At the middle school level, the Robert Frost Kickline team, coached by Dena Hermanek and Dina Peragine, won the Long Island Kickline Association Championship and were named the Long Island Pom Champions.

Standout athletes on all teams received the following accolades:

Boys Varsity Basketball       
Coach: Mr. John Mc Caffrey
Assistant Coach: Mr. Justin Gutman

Marques Charlton – All-Conference, All-League
Matthew Rigert – All-League
Anthony J. Alleyne – All-League Honorable Mention
Hui-Hung “Mike” Hwang – Academic All-County 

Girls Varsity Basketball    
Coach: Mr. Michael Gennaro and Ms. Holly O’ Donnell   
Nicole Alvarez – All-League
Andrea Desvignes – All-League

Additional Contributing Scholar-Athlete Team Members:
Kelsey Dillon       
Kayla Saraniero       
Jasmine Gonzalez
Felicia LaSorsa   
Joanna Tarzi           
Shayna Robinson
Kristen Fischer

Varsity Bowling        
Coach: Mr. Anthony Tannacore

Erik Zimmerman –     Second Team All-League
Alexander Herrera –  Second Team All-League
                                   Individual Sportsmanship League Award
Adam Maugeri –         Second Team All-League
Edward Kane     –      Scholar-Athlete
                                   Individual Sportsmanship League Award

Additional Contributing Scholar-Athlete Team Members:
Fariha Khan
Rebecca D’Agostino               
Krystle Kozakevitch       
Oksenia Dyer   

Boys Swimming        
Coach: Mr. Craig Mangio and Mr. Ed Libretto

Tyler Di Domenico – All-League
Jacob Sonera – All-League
                         200-meter Freestyle
                         500-meter Freestyle

Additional Contributing Scholar-Athlete Team Members:
Kevin Tresselt       
Linas Ramanauskas       
Joseph Giammona
Salvatore Caldarello       
Joseph Paskewicz       
Edward Matinez-Salinas
Brian Kalladeen       
Michael Pagan       
Ryan Littman
Ricardo Carter           
Thomas Embry

Girls Track
Coach: Mr. Jess Prochilo
Assistant Coach: Mr. Joseph Schlessinger

Thailia Le Grendre-Hobbins –   All-League
Denise Davis –                          All-League
Totianyu Guadalupe –               All-League
Megan Reilly –                          All-League
Ayshawna Baldwin –                 All-League

Additional Contributing Scholar-Athlete Team Members:
Kayla Downs
Blanca Tovar
Ashita Samroo
Brittany Cali
Amanda Orzo
Magnolia Chiri-Garcia
Nicole Goh
Gianella James
Diane Kalladeen
Valeria Tovar

Boys Track              
Coach: Mr. Christopher Kauter   
Assistant Coach: Mr. Mario Fiore

Kevin Martinez – All-League

Additional Contributing Scholar-Athlete Team Members:
Ahad Arshad        
Philip Scarfi       
Jose Cisneros
Wai-Ga Ho           
Ismaldo Matias    
Paul Anthony Pfundstein
Rick Guerra           
Andrew Bylicki   
Ka-Chung Hung
Christian Gonzalez       
Ian Kowalchuk   
Bryant Phan   
Daniel Friend

Coach: Ms. Angela Bonnano                   
Assistant Coach: Ms. Kristen Smith

Scholar-Athlete Team Members:
Dana Norman       
Bridget Roy           
Kaitlyn Lucas
Kristin McDonough       
Kimberly Zelaya       
Crystal Harris
Danielle Calcagno       
Gabrielle Miceli       
Nicole Cito

Coach: Ms. Lia Demyen
Assistant Coach: Ms. Lauren Funaro

Scholar-Athlete Team Members:
Brittany Guttadauria       
Victoria Russell        
Concetta Gioeli
Stephanie Ognibene           
Alyssa Frohnhoefer       
Chinella Charlton   
Briana Gati               
Deanna Merlino