skip to main content

High School Honors 19 Champions for Excellent Character

IMG_2260.jpg thumbnail67779
DPHS_BoC.jpg thumbnail67780

At the high school’s annual fall Breakfast for Champions, held on Nov. 10 in the school library, 19 Deer Park High School students were honored by teachers and administrators for their character. Each fall and spring, student champions are chosen by each of the school’s departments, alongside three additional principal’s, administrator’s and teacher’s champions. The school’s string ensemble provided music for the event.

The fall 2016 Breakfast for Champions honorees, all presented with plaques, were Anthony Aiello (world languages), Muhammad Akhtar (math), Kerrin Bates (family and consumer science), Jean Bub (health), Michael Charumaneeroj (performing arts), Victoria Clark (art), Kristen DeBiase (athletics), James Depre (science), Melissa Fisk (English language arts), Jordan Galaor (physical education), Tanzina Haque (English as a new language), Connor Hewlette (Principal’s Award), Wasif Islam (technology), Adyel Juergensen (Administrator’s Award), Lauren Leon (Teacher’s Award), Mallorie Szewczuk (guidance), Bianca Taipe (social studies), Jordan Trovato (athletics) and Joseph Vaccaro (business).

“The Breakfast for Champions recognizes students that have continued to excel and follow their dreams,” said Principal Charles Cobb. “This event is an opportunity to recognize our students for their accomplishments here at Deer Park High School, but also to highlight the fact that these are outstanding young men and women who continually exude character traits that are desirable for all of our students. We are so proud of all the students who were recognized and continue to wish them the best of luck in all of their future endeavors.”

Deer Park School District